Tuesday, November 29, 2011


November 29, 1963


Washington, D.C. (JFK+50) President Lyndon B. Johnson issued Executive Order #11130 today which establishes the President's Commission on the Assassination of President John F. Kennedy.

The newly appointed commission,to be chaired by Earl Warren, Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court, will investigate JFK's death & report its' conclusions to the President.

Other members of the Warren Commission include:

Senator Richard B. Russell of Georgia
Senator John Sherman Cooper of Kentucky
Congressman Hale Boggs of Louisiana
Congressman Gerald R. Ford of Michigan
Allen W. Dulles, former CIA director
John J. McCloy, former head of the World Bank

James Lee Rankin, former US Solicitor General, is to serve as general counsel.*

*The Warren Report was issued in November 1964 as an 888 summary report.
Two months later 26 volumes of supporting documentation, testimony or depositions of 552 witnesses & 3100 exhibits followed.

               Chief Justice Earl Warren
           United States Supreme Court
                   Harris & Ewing Photo

The conclusion of the Warren Commission was that President John F. Kennedy's assassination was the result of the act of a lone gunman, Lee Harvey Oswald.

The Commission found no evidence of conspiracy "foreign or domestic."

As to the shooting, the Warren Report said that 3 shots were fired, the 1st missed, the 3rd hit JFK in the head & the 2nd hit both JFK & Governor Connally.

No comments:

Post a Comment